You can hear ICOG board member Tony Fargo



The Law and Policy Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication held a pre-convention workshop session on “The Future of Media Law and Policy.” Anthony Fargo, former head of the division, moderated. The second panel discussed newsgathering.





AEJMC Preconference Workshop

Wednesday, Aug. 8, 2007, 5:30 to 10 p.m.


Title: “The Future of Media Law and Policy”


Cultural and technological changes, as well as shifts in the relationship between the press and the government, are having profound effects on media law and regulatory policy. Three distinguished panels of academics and legal practitioners will analyze the changes and discuss the future of law and policy for traditional and emerging media. The discussion will be incredibly valuable for anyone who teaches or does research in communication law.


Moderator: Anthony L. Fargo, Ph.D., Indiana


Panel 1 – 5:30 to 6:45 p.m. – Telecommunications Policy


Daniel Brenner, senior vice president, Law & Regulatory Policy, National Cable & Telecommunications Association, Washington.

Justin Brown, assistant professor of telecommunication, Florida.

Herbert A. Terry, associate professor of telecommunications, Indiana.

Richard E. Wiley, former chair, Federal Communications Commission; managing partner, Wiley Rein LLP, Washington.


Panel 2 – 7 to 8:15 – Newsgathering


Lucy Dalglish, executive director, Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, Arlington, Va.

Ashley Gauthier Messenger, editorial counsel, U.S. News & World Report, Washington.

Charles D. Tobin, media attorney, Holland & Knight LLP, Washington.

Kyu Ho Youm, professor and Jonathan Marshall First Amendment Chair, Oregon.


Panel 3 – 8:30 to 9:45 – Commercial Speech and Intellectual Property


Victoria Smith Ekstrand, assistant professor, Bowling Green State.

Lesley Fair, senior attorney, Bureau of Consumer Protection, Federal Trade Commission, Washington.

R. Michael Hoefges, assistant professor, North Carolina-Chapel Hill.

Matt Jackson, associate professor of communications, Pennsylvania State.